How I Just Barely Got into Anime Detour

Good evening, mina-san

Well, the capacity for Anime Detour 2011 has been reached. That means no walk-ups. Thank goodness I decided to not do that this year and preregister. However, it wasn’t until the last minute. I saw on the forums that the capacity limit went from 500 to 200 very fast. With little cash on hand, I knew I had to fight for my right to party. But since I don’t have the awesome sword skills of Inu-Yasha or Cloud, I had to go through legal channels. And it wasn’t easy.

Since I was short $32 on the preregistration cost, I went through my usual channels for income: blood and sperm banks. I only made $18 and in retrospect I should have gone to the sperm bank first. I was still $14 short. Many of my colleagues suggested that I sell some of the manga and anime I don’t use. I would except I don’t trust eBay and nobody on campus wanted to buy my stuff at a reasonable price. Can you believe some baka wanted my complete RahXephon set for $10? Do I look like a Goodwill? I may be desperate for cash, but I’m not that desperate. I have my dignity.

My parents are usually pretty good about loaning me money, but I think they’re on to me since they found out I was buying manga instead of textbooks. I tried asking for a raise at the fast-food joint I work at, but my boss got real angry and threw his can Dr. Pepper at my head. So how did I get my $14? Well, it wasn’t easy. I started small by swiping coins from mall fountains and Coke machines. I then moved up to performing my anime dances I’d rehearsed tirelessly in high school in the skyways for cash. I’d only made $4 and needed $10 in the next few days or I would surely not be attending Anime Detour this year.

So I fired up the old craigslist to find a gig for some quick cash. In the writing section, there was a job posting for bloggers wanted. I like to think of myself as a blogging expert so I applied. My job was to write 100 blog posts and I would earn the $10 I needed. They wanted me to blog about a wedding fashion. Granted, I don’t have much experience on the subject, but I’ve learned much from anime like Wedding Peach and Kimagure Orange Road to get a good idea. It was tough. In many of the articles I ran out of material and just started listing episode synopsis for Ranma 1/2. The boss for the blogging got mad at me and I received several angry e-mails for spamming people’s Twitter, WordPress and Blogspot accounts, but I wrote 100 articles and he paid me my $10. I just barely got the preregistration in on time.

So, yeah, I’ll be attending Anime Detour this year after having worked like a dog to get in. I’m not proud of the blog posts I made to get that money, but sometimes we all have to work. I suppose I could use those blog posts as writing material for a future job, but it is clearly not my best work and I’d like to forget the whole ordeal. I also feel really stupid that I just didn’t divert funds from the Society of Anime & Manga to pay for my membership. Paul-sama offered to pay for me, but he is a jerk and I don’t want to beg him for money. But all will be forgiven when we are partying it up at Anime Detour this April. I hope to see you all there.

-Keep on Rockin’ That Dragon

About Dragon Rocker Z

I'm rocking the Dragon! I love anime, manga, Pocky, Ramune, and pretty much anything that comes from Japan. I'm currently in college trying to get my degree in Japanese language. I hope to go to Japan and make anime!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How I Just Barely Got into Anime Detour

  1. Anon-tan says:

    You may not know it Dragon Rocker Z-kun, but you are a sugoi human being. Never change for anyone, and always hold fast to your dreams.

Leave a Reply

